Supporting the children’s book illustrators of the future

Past winners

University of South Wales

2019 winner

Student Georgia Page won the 2019 Carmelite Prize with her illustrations for a picture book written by Kes Gray.

For the 2019 prize, undergraduate students of design and illustration were asked to create four colour spreads for Gray’s Zebracadabra, a brilliantly funny story, jam-packed with animals and magic.
Sophie Stericker, group Creative Director at HCG, said, ‘We are thrilled the Carmelite Prize increases in popularity every year with illustration students and tutors around the country. We had a record number of entries this time, with so many showing outstanding originality and visual story-telling skill. It’s always agonizing to choose the overall winner but Georgia’s innovative interpretation of the text impressed us unanimously.’

Georgia Page, a second year student from the University of South Wales, was given £1000 and Hodder Children’s Books, an imprint of HCG, will be publishing her work with Grays text.

‘I am delighted to have won the Carmelite Prize, it’s an initiate I’m so impressed by and it’s incredible how much it’s grown in the last four years,’ she said. ‘It’s a wonderful thing to be part of!’

Katie Allen from Nottingham Trent University won a second prize of £500 and Yingxi Xu also from Nottingham Trent University won the third prize of £250. Beatrix Hatcher from Arts University Bournemouth, Daniel Bennett from University of Central Lancashire and Alan Orzcyk Nottingham Trent University were highly commended for their submissions.

2019 winning artwork



Past Winners

2018 winner

Falmouth University

Where the Sea Meets the Sky
Written by Peter Bently



2017 winner

University of Hertfordshire

Free-Range Freddy
Written by Rachel Bright



2016 winner  

Mark Nicholas

Anglia Ruskin University

The Story of Tantrum O’Furrily
Written by Cressida Cowell